Tags

, , , ,

The third weekend in October we decided to take it a little easier than the previous weekend. We decided to go camping at höga kusten, or the high coast in English. Since there were so many of us going we rented 3 cars. Friday afternoon Lukas and Tom asked me to go with them to pick up the cars, and I said ok. So we get there, and we are talking to the guy and I said something about the car being an automatic.. They all kind of looked at me like I had ten heads, and then I realized they only have standards around here! So the last time I drove a standard was like 8 years ago, and it didn’t go so well… Though I must say I must thank my Uncle Kendall for forcing us to learn standard back then cause it did come in handy.. So needless to say the only thing going through my head was “Crap, crap, crap, crap, etc.” Fortunately, both Tom and Lukas were amazingly supportive and had the patience to go over how to drive a standard with me in the parking lot. I think they believed in me more than I did. After a few tries I was driving around the parking lot with no (or very little) problem. The only trouble I had was going from stopping to first gear, but that was only a minor detail. Luckily for me, all the intersections we came to on the drive to ICA (the morning meeting spot) were traffic circles which do not require you to come to a complete stop. Thank Goodness! At one point we almost had to stop due to construction and traffic, but by the grace of god I managed to get through and keep the car rolling. When we finally arrived I was soo excited!!! I could not believe I had just did that. Unfortunately, that was the only time I got to drive. I don’t think they wanted to risk it on our trip when there were other people who knew how to drive standard legit. Hopefully I’ll get to try again sometime in the near future.