Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I totally meant to post this months ago, however, life happens and thus, blogging does not. Anywho… better late than never.

Earlier in the day we had gone dog sledding, as discussed in my previous post, which was only the beginning of our outdoor adventures in Kiruna. We were going on an overnight snowmobile tour. “We” included the three Brits, Pia, my brother and myself. At 3 pm we met up, got the two snowmobiles and sled ready to go.

Even though it was only 3pm, it was already dark (note most of the pictures in this post are from the 2nd day during the brief hours of daylight), but it was a clear night with lots of stars in the sky. We headed out on the trail, with two guys on one snowmobile, two in the sled, and pia and I on the other snowmobile. Pia and I were in the lead, towing the sled. We stopped a few times so the guys could swap spots, and to allow everyone a turn to drive. We had been driving for about 3/4 of an hour when I had turned around to see the guys behind us. Just as I had turned all I could see was the headlight of the snowmobile through a cloud of snow, promptly followed by the disappearance of said headlight as the tree adjacent to the trail shook causing the snow to fall from its limbs. “They hit a tree!” I yelled to Pia. No response. “They hit a tree!” No response. “THEY HIT A TREE!” Finally Pia turned around and looked, then stopped the machine. “Oh, I thought you had meant a branch,” Pia said. Unfortunately, no I did not mean a branch, I meant a legitimate tree. Luckily, the only thing hurt was the snowmobile (and maybe the tree), as the whole front end was wrapped around the tree. Since we were only about 10 minutes from the cabin the boys just squeezed into the sled and we carried on.

The only real downside was that none of us could have another turn driving (since Pia was the guide she had to always be driving one of the snowmobiles). We were able to get around this problem, but I will get to that later.

When we arrived at the cabin we unloaded the sled and got everything settled then had supper. Supper was delicious! We had some salmon and other things for an appetizer, followed by a fantastically delicious reindeer meat entrée prepared by Miss Pia.

After supper some of Pia’s friends arrived via snowmobile. Coincidentally, at the same time another tour group had stopped just a few meters down the river for a mug up, and their guide allowed us to borrow two snowmobiles for an hour or so while they were having their break. So we went out for a spin and man was it fun! I was riding on back of Pia’s friends super sweet snowmobile, and let me tell you he knew how to drive! I had never gone that fast ever. I literally had a death grip around him so that I wouldn’t fall off. He would then go in the deep snow and drive the snowmobile on one ski, then the other. I was having so much fun I couldn’t stop laughing, and my teeth were hurting from the cold cause I couldn’t stop smiling.

When we returned the sauna was warmed up and ready. One thing I love about Sweden and Finland, is saunas are everywhere and an essential part of the lifestyle. The evening concluded with smoked and salted reindeer heart and a few drinks.

The next day we packed up and headed back to Kiruna. Once back we decided to check out the ice hotel while it was still day light. It was pretty spectacular.

Unfortunately we were too early for the ice bar, as that opened later in the day.

That night we just took it easy, as we had to drive back to Umeå the following day. All and all it was a great trip up north, and one that shouldn’t be forgotten too soon.